Nebraska State Grass

Little bluestem, Andropogon scoparius (schizachyrium), was designated the official state grass of Nebraska on May 5, 1969, with the passage of a bill introduced by Sens. Maurice A. Kremer of Aurora and Wayne L. Schreurs of Seward. Little bluestem, a vigorous native prairie grass, grows throughout the Great Plains and beyond. In central and western Nebraska, it grows in bunches and is sometimes called "bunch grass." In some areas, it is also known as "beard grass." The grass is an important native hay and forage grass.