Walker Zulkoski, Nebraska Department of Economic Development Is Leadership Nebraska Class VII Graduate

Show all

Walker Zulkoski, Nebraska Department of Economic Development Is Leadership Nebraska Class VII Graduate

Walker Zulkoski, business development consultant with the Nebraska Department of Economic Development, Lincoln, was honored with a certificate and commemorative award at the State Chamber’s Leadership Nebraska Commencement ceremony held Thursday, February 19, 2015, in Lincoln.

Graduates of the State Chamber’s Leadership Nebraska are current and emerging leaders from communities throughout Nebraska. The program enhances their leadership skills and deepens their knowledge of the challenges and opportunities facing our state. Leadership Nebraska is dedicated to the development of informed leaders that understand issues, define problems, develop solutions, and achieve positions of higher responsibility in Nebraska.

“The program is aimed at persons who have demonstrated community and professional leadership experience.  Through a variety of tours, speakers, discussion groups and first-hand experiences, the class members develop and hone their leadership skills and gain a broader understanding of issues facing Nebraska,” said Barry Kennedy, President of the Nebraska Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

The program includes six two-day sessions held in various locations across Nebraska.  Topic areas include:  economic development, healthcare, agriculture, education and government & policy.

The Leadership Nebraska Class VII members who graduated on February 19, 2015 are:  Ben Allemann, National Research Corp, Lincoln; Karl Barfuss, NUCOR Steel, Norfolk; John Barrett, Great Plains Communication, Omaha; Amy Brown, Bluffs Sanitary Supply, Scottsbluff; Daren Buettner, NUCOR Steel, Norfolk; Jon Burt, Ak-Sar-Ben Foundation, Omaha; Juli Comstock, Omaha Public Power District, Omaha; Brad Fooken, Glass House, Fremont; Melissa Garcia, Custer Economic Development Corporation, Broken Bow; Brandy Johnson, Black Hills Energy, Lincoln; Corrie Kielty, Nebraska CASA Association, Lincoln; Scott Kvols, Pinnacle Bank Hastings; Tara Lea, Ralston Area Chamber, Ralston; Jessica Meyer, Consortia Consulting, Lincoln; Judy Mitchell, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Nebraska, Omaha; Terry Rajewich, Nebraska Public Power District, Scottsbluff; Jim Reiff, Nebraska Enterprise Fund, Oakland; Chris Sommerich, Humanities Nebraska, Lincoln; John Sullivan, BCDM Architects, Omaha; Michael Swope, Omaha; Randy Throener, BKD CPA’s & Advisors, Lincoln; Patti Vannoy, Mattson Ricketts Law, Lincoln; Terry Warth, Sr., Nebraska Public Power District, Columbus; Mike Wilken, Beacon Insurance, Kearney; Walker Zulkoski, Nebraska Department of Economic Development, Lincoln.

Application forms for the next class may be submitted until April 10, 2015.  For more information on the State Chamber’s Leadership Nebraska, please contact Roberta Pinkerton at (402)474-4422 or visit the website at www.leadershipnebraska.com.