## [UNAPPROVED COPY]

# **Nebraska Commission on Housing & Homelessness Meeting**

Wednesday, August 21, 2024 10:00AM (Central Time) The Lark, 809 W 2<sup>nd</sup> Street Hastings, Nebraska 68901

**Notice Published**: Nebraska Public Meeting Calendar (July 21, 2024)

NCHH Website (July 21, 2024)

**Open Meetings Act:** A copy of the Open Meetings Act was linked on the agenda and a copy was available on the sign-in table. All votes were taken by roll call vote of Commissioners, pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statute §§ 84-1407 through 84-1414.

Start Time 10:03am (CT)

# I. Roll Call (9/15 present- Quorum)

Barb Pierce called roll.

Commissioners: Nine (9) of fifteen commissioners were present: Jeff Chambers, Ryan Durant, Paul Hamelink, Roger Nadrchal, Mindy Paces, Amy Thelander, John Turner, Nancy Bentley, Judy Pederson.

Absent commissioners: Lee Heflebower, Kathy Mesner, Judy Petersen, Ashley Milner, Brent Williams and Tera Kucera.

Guests: Michael Adams, Heartland Family Service; Chad Bunger, City of Hastings; Evan Clark, Hoppe Development; and Carla Kimball, Central Nebraska Economic Development District.

Department of Economic Development (DED) Staff: Lynn Kohout, Barb Pierce

Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Staff: Niki Tuzicka

#### II. Call Meeting to Order

Chair Thelander declared a quorum with 9 of 15 commissioners present and 6 absent. The meeting was called to order by Chair Thelander at 10:03 am (CT).

#### III. Introductions

Chair Thelander welcomed all commissioners and guests. All in attendance were asked to introduce themselves.

#### IV. Public Comments

Chair Thelander asked for public comments. There were no comments.

#### V. Approval of May 15, 2024, Meeting Minutes

Chair Thelander asked for a motion to approve the May 15, 2024 meeting minutes.

Commissioner Nadrchal introduced a motion to approve the minutes. Commissioner Bentley seconded this motion.

A roll call vote was taken with 7 yeas and 2 abstentions by Commissioners Durant and

Pederson. The Motion to approve the May 15, 2024, meeting minutes was carried.

# VI. Reports from Agencies

A. Department of Economic Development - Lynn Kohout

DED Director of Housing, Lynn Kohout, provided an update to the Commission on the State and Federally funded housing programs administered by the Department of Economic Development including the Nebraska Affordable Housing Trust Fund (NAHTF), Rural Workforce Housing Fund (RWHF), Middle Income Housing Fund (MIHF), HOME Investment Partnerships Fund (HOME), National Housing Trust Fund (HTF), HOME-ARP, Rural Workforce Housing Land Development Program and Pandemic Relief Housing Program.

B. Department of Health and Human Services Agency – Niki Tuzicka Nebraska Homeless Assistance Program (NHAP) Coordinator Niki Tuzicka provided a report.

## VII. Reports from Standing Committees

#### A. Executive Committee

Chair Thelander reported on the Executive Committee. By-laws will continue to be worked on in the coming months. She reported that DED Director Belitz is asking for feedback on the role of the commission. She asked for feedback from Commissioners that she may share with Director Belitz about the role of the Commission.

Commissioner Nadrchal made a motion which was seconded by Pederson. The motion states that Chair Thelander shall request from all Commissioners an email describing the value and tangible actions performed by the Commission. Thelander will convene an Executive Committee to compile the information and produce a report to Director Belitz. A roll call vote was taken with 9 yeas and 0 nays. The motion passed.

Director of Housing, Lynn Kohout reported on Commissioner reappointments made by the Governor. The Governor has reappointed six Commissioners but has not filled any open seats with new appointments.

#### B. Continuum of Care

Commissioner Chambers reported that funding is being applied for to assist permanent supportive housing needs and he also reported that Nebraska was awarded funding from HUD's Youth Homeless Systems Improvement grant. Commissioner Turner provided additional information including that Emergency Rental Assistance is still available and that the Nebraskarenthelp.org dashboard is being updated. Mindy Paces provided a brief report on the Omaha activity.

#### C. Education and Awareness

Chair Pederson provided a report. The proclamation declaring November as Homeless Awareness Month will be sent to the Governor's office in the near future.

## D. Policy and Issues

Chair Thelander provided a report. There was no meeting this quarter but one will be convened soon. A member of the public shared comments regarding bill LB840 that was recently passed in the legislature.

# VIII. Report/Communication on Nebraska Olmstead Plan

Commissioner Turner provided an update. NIFA and DED had collaborated on an application which was not funded. They plan to resubmit. The deadline is October 15, 2024. NIFA applied for HUD 811 funding and were awarded \$8 million to provide project based rental assistance to persons with disabilities. This will be used in conjunction with LIHTC funding.

# IX. Reports from Partner Organizations

- a) Assistive Technology Partnership No report.
- b) Federal Home Loan Bank of Topeka No report.
- c) Nebraska Chapter of Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (NAHRO) Commissioner Bentley gave report.
- d) Nebraska Housing Developers Association No report.
- e) Nebraska Investment Finance Authority Commissioner Turner provided a report.
- f) U.S. Department of Agriculture, Rural Development No report.
- g) Department of Housing and Urban Development No report.
- h) Nebraska Children and Families Foundation No report.
- Other Agency/Organizations Present None reported.

# X. 2024 NCHH Meeting Dates

November 20, 2024 (Lincoln)

#### XI. Other Business

A. Commissioner Terms

The following commissioners were reappointed for terms that will expire June 30, 2026:

Nancy Bentley

**Ashley Milner** 

**Amy Thelander** 

John Turner

The following commissioners were reappointed for terms that expire June 30, 2027:

Lee Heflebower

**Mindy Paces** 

# XII. Adjournment

Chair Thelander adjourned the meeting of the Commission at 12:15pm (CT).