Today, the Nebraska Department of Economic Development (DED) announced the recipients of $22,825,000 in awards through the 2022 round of Nebraska’s Rural Workforce Housing Fund (RWHF).

Authorized by the Rural Workforce Housing Investment Act of 2017, the RWHF helps communities create quality, affordable housing to accommodate growth.

For the 2022 funding cycle, RWHF awards were available to eligible non-profit development organizations who supplied at least a fifty percent match (that is, fifty cents for every one dollar of RWHF funds awarded). In many cases, local financial institutions and employers partnered with the primary applicant in providing the local match. Combined, today’s recipients contributed more than $12.1 million in matching funds.

DED administers the RWHF program on behalf of the State of Nebraska through a competitive application process. The department then partners with recipients to provide input regarding project design, development, and implementation.

“Growing rural Nebraska is a priority for our agency,” said DED Interim Director Joe Fox. “The RWHF supports job creation and helps attract residents to our rural communities through strategic investments in affordable, high-quality housing. We had an outstanding batch of applicants for this cycle of RWHF awards. Congratulations to the awardees!”

Today’s awards were made possible by a general fund allocation authorized by the Nebraska Legislature in 2022.

The award recipients, their project areas, matching dollars, and amount awarded are listed below. For more information about the RWHF, visit For questions, contact Nick Dropinski, Workforce Housing Specialist, at or 402-580-0713. 

Rural Workforce Housing Fund Recipients, May 2023

RecipientProject AreaLocal MatchRWHF Award
Albion Economic Development CorporationAlbion$566,000$1,000,000
Arcadia Safety and Preservation Fund, Inc.Valley County, primarily Arcadia$500,000$1,000,000
Aurora Housing Development CorporationHamilton County$500,000$1,000,000
Box Butte Development CorporationAlliance$375,000$750,000
Columbus Area Chamber of CommerceColumbus$500,000$1,000,000
David City Development CorporationDavid City$500,000$1,000,000
Grand Island Area Economic Development CorporationGrand Island$675,000$1,000,000
Greater Fremont Development CouncilFremont$503,000$1,000,000
Greater Loup Valley Activities, Inc.Valley County, primarily Ord$551,500$1,000,000
Hastings Economic Development CorporationHastings$600,000$1,000,000
McCook Economic Development CorporationMcCook, Red Willow county$351,000$702,000
Merrick County Development CorporationCentral City$502,500$1,000,000
NeighborWorks Northeast NebraskaNorfolk$500,000$1,000,000
Neligh Chamber of CommerceNeligh$255,000$510,000
North Central Development Center, Inc.Brown, Keya Paha, & Rock counties$163,500$327,000
O’Neill Chamber of CommerceO’Neill$500,000$1,000,000
Panhandle Area Development DistrictSidney$500,000$1,000,000
Phelps County Development CorporationHoldrege, Bertrand$300,000$600,000
Ravenna Economic Development CorporationRavenna$175,000$350,000
Seward County Chamber & Development PartnershipSeward County$378,000$756,000
South Central Economic Development District, Inc.Adams, Buffalo, Clay, Franklin, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Howard, Kearney, Merrick, Nuckolls, Phelps, & Webster counties$430,000$860,000
Southeast Nebraska Affordable Housing CouncilNebraska City, Falls City, and Henderson primarily$800,000$1,000,000
Spencer Community Economic Development, Inc.Spencer$350,000$700,000
Twin Cities DevelopmentScotts Bluff, Morrill, & Kimball counties$500,000$1,000,000
Wausa Development CorporationWausa$135,000$270,000
West Central Nebraska Development DistrictImperial$500,000$1,000,000
York County Development CorporationYork County$500,000$1,000,000
Total $12,110,500$22,825,000